On this page

Scytale fits a startup’s first SOC 2 when the founder needs software and a consultant. With Comp AI, a technical owner can inspect the automation and get hosted expert guidance through Slack while implementing controls. Iru fits small SaaS teams buying compliance, endpoint management, and identity together. Its $9,000/year startup bundle requires an annual commitment and covers up to 25 endpoints, 25 mobile devices, and 25 identity users. An independent CPA issues the report.

Compare with: every SOC 2 platform we review for a wider shortlist, the pricing comparison for observed contract bands, or the startup SOC 2 guide for when to begin.

This guide compares SOC 2 software for cloud-native startups, typically with 10–50 employees, preparing for a first audit. The paths below point to the likeliest fits, and the table compares budgets and what each plan’s support covers.

Which SOC 2 platform fits a startup without compliance expertise?

Three platforms include expert help for a startup without in-house compliance expertise: Scytale, Comp AI and Carbide. Scytale includes consulting on DFY and Stronger. Comp AI gives a technical team hosted expert guidance while it implements controls. Carbide includes a security advisor on Insights. Assign someone at your startup to own the work, and arrange the independent CPA examination separately.

Carbide is not one of the nine platforms compared below; its plan table, checked September 30, 2026, lists a dedicated security advisor, Carbide-led gap and risk assessments, and personalized audit guidance on Insights, from $22,000/year for three frameworks. Foundation starts at $7,500/year without the advisor. For hands-on implementation and remediation, request a Fractional CISO quote, and budget the CPA fee separately. See the Carbide profile and published-price comparison.

How should a startup choose SOC 2 software?

Buy when a customer has named Type 1 or Type 2, the systems in scope, and a deadline, and someone on staff owns the work. If those three are still unclear, document policies and owners first; an annual subscription does not create the requirement. Each name in the table links to the package limit that changes the quote. All prices are USD; a published starting price is not an all-in audit budget.

For a small SaaS company’s first audit, start with these three paths:

Startup fit, software price and who does the work
Platform and fitPrice and scopeHelp included / your responsibility
Scytale
For startups without in-house compliance expertise
Software from $7,500 for 12 months and one framework. DFY and Stronger consulting need a separate quote.DFY: consultant for up to six months. Stronger: 12 months and ongoing policy updates. Starter has no consulting. You approve policies and implement controls.
Comp AI
For a technical owner who will run the controls
Hosted service: quote-only, set by frameworks, team size, timeline and audit or security inclusions. Self-hosting costs are separate.Expert Slack guidance on what to implement. Your team operates the controls and proves them to its CPA.
Iru
For small SaaS teams buying compliance, endpoint management, and identity together
Iru Core starts at $9,000/year on an annual commitment, for up to 25 endpoints, 25 mobile devices, and 25 identity users. Extra seats: request the price.Compliance Automation with Trust Center plus endpoint, EDR, vulnerability and identity products. Your team operates controls; confirm advisory scope and the CPA fee.
Drata
For self-led teams planning to add frameworks
Direct plans are quote-only. Drata's AWS Marketplace Foundation Package lists at $15,000 for 12 months for companies with 1 to 50 FTE; the listing does not itemize frameworks, so confirm it covers SOC 2.Training, in-app support and Compliance Advisors. No dedicated implementation manager is promised; assign an internal lead.
Vanta
For mainstream stacks and auditor choice
Essentials from $14,000 for a 12-month Marketplace contract, for 1–20 employees. Larger teams and added modules need separate pricing.Compliance guidance and access to experts. Your team runs implementation unless you contract extra help.
Sprinto
For a guided first audit
Foundation and Growth require quotes. AWS lists a $7,500 Starter Platform for 12 months and up to 100 employees, plus a first core framework from $2,000.An in-house lead auditor guides the first audit of each framework on your plan. Your team implements controls.
Secureframe
For guided implementation with an internal owner
Fundamentals starts at $7,500/year as of October 20, 2026; Complete and Defense need quotes. SSO and SCIM require Complete.Expert access and customer support; your team drives implementation.
Strike Graph
For a limited free SOC 2 start and published upper-tier prices
A separate free signup describes up to 15 attachments. Certify has no public base price; Scale starts at $21,500/year and Enterprise at $35,000/year.A dedicated consultant is not specified in the cited plans. Budget for your internal owner and any extra advisory help.
Scrut Automation
For SOC 2 alongside risk and other frameworks
$15,000 for a 12-month Marketplace contract: Compliance Automation module, up to 20 employees. Larger teams need a quote.Support is described through post-audit, but the consultant's tasks and term are unspecified. You still need an owner.

Support descriptions come from the vendors. A task described as guidance is not a promise that someone will do it for you.

The chart puts each platform’s lowest published entry price on one scale, with Carbide added for comparison.

Carbide, Foundation plan
Scytale, AWS Marketplace offer
Secureframe, Fundamentals plan
Iru, Core for startups bundle
Sprinto, AWS Marketplace platform + first framework
Vanta, Essentials plan
Drata, AWS Marketplace Foundation, 1–50 FTE
Scrut Automation, AWS Marketplace offer
Strike Graph, Scale plan
Comp AI, no published price
Published SOC 2 software entry prices run from $7.5K to $21.5K a year; 1 platform publishes none.Annual USD. Arrows mark starting prices. Scope differs: seat caps, bundled endpoint and identity tools, marketplace terms. None is a quote.

Sources: Carbide $7,500+; Scytale $7,500+; Secureframe $7,500+; Iru $9,000+; Sprinto $9,500+; Vanta $14,000+; Drata $15,000; Scrut Automation $15,000+; Strike Graph $21,500+. Checked 2026-09-24 to 2026-10-20.

A dedicated consultant with a stated term

Scytale: Build DFY, up to six months; Build Stronger, 12 months. Build Starter has none.

A dedicated advisor on one plan

Carbide: Insights plan only. Foundation and Advanced do not include the advisor.

A lead auditor for the first audit

Sprinto: an in-house lead auditor guides the first audit of each framework on the plan.

Expert access, no delegated tasks

Comp AI, Drata, Vanta, and Secureframe describe guidance or expert access. Your team still implements controls.

Support described; tasks and term not stated

Iru, Strike Graph, and Scrut describe support, but the cited pages do not set the tasks or term.

Only Scytale and Carbide commit a dedicated consultant or advisor, and only on certain plans; Sprinto names a lead auditor for the first audit.Vendor-described scope from the plan pages cited in the table and vendor sections. The independent CPA examination is separate in every row.

Attestation-capable CPA firms in our directory list these platforms among the ones they work with, by firm count: Vanta 40, Drata 49, Sprinto 44, Secureframe 13, Strike Graph 1 and Scrut 1. Browse the full directory. None list Scytale, Comp AI, Iru or Carbide, so confirm your CPA’s experience with the platform before signing. A listing is not a partnership and does not show current capacity.

What does startup SOC 2 software cost?

A $7,500 published software floor leaves little room inside a $10,000 total budget for advisory work, remediation, and the CPA examination. If $10,000 is your software-only ceiling, treat published floors and quoted bands as starting points, subject to plan and headcount limits.

Use separate lines for software, advisory help, technical remediation, penetration testing where required, and the CPA examination. Check bundle inclusions before counting the same service twice. An internal owner’s time also matters: a cheaper self-service plan can leave more work with engineering.

For a tight budget, define one necessary framework and the systems in scope, then price the support you cannot provide internally. Ask the CPA firm whether a manual evidence workflow is practical before assuming a subscription is required. Self-hosting only helps if your team can operate it; it does not remove the examination fee.

Use the software pricing comparison for wider contract evidence and the startup SOC 2 audit cost guide for the full first-year budget.

Auditor’s view

What evidence will an auditor still test directly, whichever compliance platform you use?

Answered by Paul Wenham, Co-founder, Throughline · Sponsored

A platform centralises evidence; it doesn’t change what gets tested. Auditors test the same controls either way; what differs is how. In a typical SOC 2, roughly 30–40% of controls are configuration checks: encryption, MFA, logging. A platform auto-collects those records and proposes a pass or fail against each, which is useful for your team’s ongoing monitoring. Most auditors still form their own view from the underlying records. Without a platform, you can use AI connectors and browser agents, like those available in Claude, to collect the same system records, or capture them as exports and screenshots for your auditor.

The other 60–70% is the manual side: policies and approvals, penetration tests, risk and vendor assessments, management reviews, onboarding and offboarding, access reviews, incident tickets. We test those directly wherever they live, in either model. The best SOC 2 software for startups comes down to where you want the compliance teamwork to happen.

More from Throughline on collecting audit evidence without a compliance platform: Run compliance with AI connectors, browser agents and a human in the loop ↗

Which SOC 2 platform fits a first-audit startup?

Scytale fits founders who need a consultant alongside the software. Comp AI fits technical teams that want to inspect the automation. Iru fits small SaaS teams buying compliance, endpoint management, and identity together. The sections below also cover Sprinto, Drata, Vanta, Secureframe, Strike Graph, and Scrut, with each plan’s support limits.

Does Scytale include a consultant only on DFY and Stronger?

Yes: Build DFY and Build Stronger include a consultant, and Build Starter does not. Build Starter lists no consulting plan, and the difference between DFY and Stronger is how long the help lasts. Scytale fits startups without in-house compliance expertise when policy preparation would otherwise mean hiring a separate adviser.

The package table pairs DFY with one-time policy alignment and a black-box web-app penetration test, and Stronger with ongoing policy updates and a gray-box test. DFY’s weekly calls run until audit completion, but its consultant term caps at six months, so settle in writing what happens if your audit runs longer. A team with its own compliance expertise should price Build Starter alone. See the Scytale review and pricing guide.

Who does the control work when a startup chooses Comp AI?

Your team implements and operates the controls. Comp AI advertises one-to-one Slack experts, and its subscription terms include a dedicated Slack channel, but it does not assign remediation or the CPA examination to the support team. Comp AI fits a technical owner who will run the controls, such as a founder who can act on the advice and wants to inspect the public AGPLv3 core.

The pricing page scopes the hosted quote around frameworks, headcount, timeline, and audit or security services. Get a written split of who collects evidence, who fixes a failed control, which edition and support are included, and what the CPA charges. Self-hosting adds deployment and maintenance work and carries no hosted support entitlement. See the Comp AI review and pricing guide.

What does Iru’s $9,000 startup bundle include?

Iru Core for startups starts at $9,000/year for up to 25 endpoints, 25 mobile devices, and 25 identity users. It carries an annual commitment, billed annually. As checked on September 30, 2026, it includes Compliance Automation with Trust Center, Endpoint Management, Endpoint Detection & Response, Vulnerability Management, and Workforce Identity. Extra seats come in blocks of ten at a price you must request. The independent CPA examination is separate.

Iru fits small SaaS teams buying compliance, endpoint management, and identity together, or teams that already use Iru for their devices; Compliance Automation can use native endpoint and identity state as evidence. If you keep a separate MDM and identity provider, compare the full bundle with a compliance-only quote.

Iru launched Compliance on October 22, 2025, so test the workflow on your own controls. Its auditor role cannot see full control definitions; have your CPA test the view. The startup offer sets no hands-on consulting scope, so name an internal owner and put any policy or remediation help in writing. See the Iru review.

Does Drata Foundation omit custom connections?

Yes: Drata’s plan table puts custom connections and tests on Advanced, not Foundation. Foundation is up to 50 FTEs and one pre-mapped framework, which can be SOC 2. Drata’s own site shows no dollar figure, but its AWS Marketplace Foundation Package lists at $15,000 for 12 months for companies with 1 to 50 FTE, which is the Drata mark in the chart above. That listing does not itemize frameworks, so confirm it covers SOC 2. Drata fits self-led teams planning to add frameworks, provided someone can lead implementation.

The onboarding guide describes training, technical support and Compliance Advisors but promises no dedicated implementation manager, so a founder who needs someone to drive policy preparation should get that scope in writing. See the Drata review.

Does Vanta Plus cap questionnaires at 25 a year?

Yes: Vanta’s current plan cards give Plus 25 questionnaires per year and Professional 144. That allowance can change which plan you need, and it is separate from Marketplace add-on prices. Vanta fits mainstream stacks and auditor choice: pick it when its connectors cover your systems and you want many CPA firms that know the platform.

Vanta is a weaker fit when the subscription plus implementation help would consume a budget meant to cover the whole audit, so compare the full written scope, including add-ons and renewal terms. See the Vanta review.

Does Sprinto’s included guidance have a consulting term?

No: Sprinto’s pricing page ties an in-house lead auditor to each framework’s first audit, not a consulting term. The plan names no six- or twelve-month term, and the guidance stays separate from the independent CPA examination. Sprinto fits a guided first audit: an owner gets sequenced tasks and a lead auditor’s guidance through that audit.

Direct Foundation and Growth plans require quotes. The AWS Marketplace Starter offer separately lists a $7,500 platform dimension for 12 months and up to 100 employees and a first core framework from $2,000; neither prices the CPA audit. If you have already chosen your CPA, confirm in writing that your plan allows a bring-your-own auditor: the pricing page is inconsistent on Foundation. If you run custom controls, demonstrate that workflow before replacing it. See the Sprinto review.

Does Secureframe Fundamentals include SSO and SCIM?

No: SSO and SCIM Connections begin on Complete, not Fundamentals. Secureframe’s pricing page listed Fundamentals from $7,500/year on October 20, 2026. Secureframe fits guided implementation with an internal owner: your team runs the work and calls on Secureframe’s experts. Request a Complete quote if either identity feature is required.

Decide which policy work you want a person to perform, then confirm whether Fundamentals includes it. See the Secureframe review.

Is Strike Graph’s free signup a complete SOC 2 program?

No: the free signup describes up to 15 attachments, and Certify has no public base price. Strike Graph’s pricing page links to the free signup, which also describes a risk assessment, Office 365 and Google Drive connections, and expert support. Scale starts at $21,500/year, and Enterprise at $35,000/year. Some AI and questionnaire features sit above Certify or cost extra. Strike Graph fits teams that want a limited free SOC 2 start and published upper-tier prices.

The integration page describes cloud, HR and code-system connections; for custom evidence sources, the pricing page lists the Evidence API under Enterprise, not Certify. See the Strike Graph profile and our Strike Graph review.

Does Scrut’s $15,000 Marketplace contract name the consultant’s tasks?

No: the $15,000 contract does not name the consultant’s tasks or term. It is a 12-month Marketplace contract for Compliance Automation for up to 20 employees, and Scrut describes support through post-audit. Scrut fits SOC 2 alongside risk and other frameworks; resolve the consultant gap in the quote.

Its Audit Center describes scoped auditor access and evidence-request tracking. The small-team contract may be hard to justify for a startup that needs only one framework, and larger teams need separate pricing. See the Scrut profile and our Scrut review.

What should you check with your auditor before buying?

Ask each finalist to demonstrate the same control, such as removing a departed employee’s access, then have your CPA inspect the export. A prepared dashboard cannot establish whether the evidence is complete enough for the engagement. For Iru, also confirm the 25-seat limits, the price of extra seats in blocks of ten, and how your CPA receives full control definitions.

Enterprise-wide GRC suites are outside this shortlist. Delve is excluded because of unresolved evidence and auditor-relationship questions in its profile and review. Thoropass’s software-and-audit bundle is in the general software guide. We have not measured which vendor gets startups to a signed report fastest. See our methodology.

A free signup or a self-hosted core does not remove the CPA fee, and a readiness score is not a signed report. To switch platforms later, agree with the auditor how to preserve evidence history before retiring the old one.

Put these five questions to every vendor in the demo:

  • Which source system, timestamp and population does each evidence record cover, and which systems depend on manual uploads?
  • Who fixes a failed control, approves the work and answers the auditor: your owner or a named vendor contact?
  • Can the auditor inspect the source record and its review history?
  • Can you export evidence, mappings and approvals, and how long does access last after the contract ends?
  • Who drafts or edits policies, how often do you meet, and when does that help end?

Then request quotes against one brief: headcount, framework and report type, in-scope systems, target date, required support, and whether penetration testing and CPA fees are included. Separate dates for implementation, evidence readiness and report delivery. Compare startup SOC 2 auditors if you have not selected the CPA firm yet.

Once you have two finalists, use our Drata vs Vanta comparison, Drata vs Sprinto comparison or Vanta vs Sprinto comparison for more detail. To widen the shortlist, compare the software directory; the platform matcher on this page can also narrow the options by your requirements.

A startup with a specific second requirement can narrow the shortlist further: see our picks for AI startups adding ISO 42001, healthcare companies and FinTech teams.