Logo Menu

How much does a SOC 2 audit cost in 2026?

Specialist Type 2 audit fees currently run $15,500 to $50,000 in our directory; Type 1 runs $10,000 to $35,000. Full-service CPA firms estimate $30,000 to $80,000 for Type 2, and Big Four firms $65,000 to $200,000. SOC 2 is an attestation: there is no extra certificate fee. A 1–10 person SaaS team with a simple system and controls ready can shop lower-cost specialists on a $7,000 to $10,000 Type 2 budget.

Estimate your cost

By Peter Korpak / Updated

Specialist Type 2
$15,500–$50,000directory band
Specialist Type 1
$10,000–$35,000directory band
Directory
192audit firms

How do SOC 2 Type 1 and Type 2 audit fees compare across firm types?

The directory covers specialist CPA firms, full-service CPA firms, and Big Four offices. Type 1 and Type 2 bands are in the table. A small startup comparing on price often lands below these bands; that case is in the startup budget guide.

SOC 2 audit fee reference bands by firm type in USD · pricing snapshot August 21, 2026
Firm typeSOC 2 Type 1SOC 2 Type 2
Specialist CPA firm$10,000–$35,000$15,500–$50,000
Full-service CPA firm$20,000–$60,000$30,000–$80,000
Big Four$40,000–$145,000$65,000–$200,000

Each band runs from the median listed minimum to the median listed maximum for that firm type. Most directory prices are estimates, not minimums or a record of what buyers paid. See the sources and calculation. Australian companies comparing local issuers should use the Australian SOC 2 auditors directory for AUD bands and who can sign the report; the table above stays USD-normalised.

What have buyers reported paying?

First-person posts from 2024–2025 named these figures. They are individual reports, not an average.

Every reviewed mention, with method and date, is in the table further down.

How do I estimate SOC 2 audit cost for my scope?

Use the SOC 2 audit cost calculator to change company size, report type, and scope. The estimate uses a lower-cost specialist assumption and scales it for size and scope. Treat the result as a budget to test against quotes; the assumptions sit beside it.

Estimate your cost

How much does SOC 2 certification cost?

SOC 2 is an attestation, not a certification. There is no extra certificate fee. Buyers using that phrase usually mean the CPA examination: $10,000 to $35,000 for Type 1 or $15,500 to $50,000 for Type 2 at a specialist firm, before readiness, software, testing, remediation, or labor.

Ask the requester which report they mean. Type 1 tests control design at a specified date. Type 2 also tests operating effectiveness over a specified period. Mix those in one comparison and the prices stop meaning the same thing.

How much does SOC 2 cost all-in?

Your first-year budget is the audit fee plus the preparation, software, testing, and staff time you actually need. A prepared startup buying a lower-cost audit has a different bill from a team hiring consultants to build its controls. Start with your audit quote, then add the work in your own plan.

  • Use the annual price for the software plan you would buy, including any required platform.
  • Ask for a separate preparation quote if nobody on your team can own the controls and evidence.
  • Penetration testing is a separate purchase. See the pentest cost guide; do not treat a CPA quote as including it unless the proposal says so.
  • Estimate staff time as hours by role multiplied by your own loaded hourly cost. It is time away from other work, not another supplier invoice.

The software pricing comparison covers the platform line as its own purchase.

See wider-market cost references

These figures cover different company sizes and scopes. They are useful for checking a proposal, not for adding up a startup budget.

Budget rowCurrent planning rangeHow to use it
CPA audit — Type 1 $10,000–$35,000 Specialist planning band. Use when the requester accepts a report at a specified date. Big Four Type 1 is $40,000–$145,000.
CPA audit — Type 2 $15,500–$50,000 Specialist planning band. Use when the requester needs operating-effectiveness evidence over a specified period. Big Four Type 2 is $65,000–$200,000.
Compliance platform $3,600–$78,125 Sourced annual-USD envelope across comparable directory records; it mixes confirmed figures and labeled estimates, omits unknowns, and is not a typical price.
Internal labor $25,000–$90,000 Opportunity-cost range from buyer and partner submissions; not a vendor invoice.
Control remediation $5,000–$50,000 Applies only when readiness finds work that must be completed before or during the engagement.
Scope-change exposure $10,000–$30,000 Buyer-reported change-order range; prevent it by freezing the system boundary and criteria.

Add one report path, not Type 1 plus Type 2, and only the add-ons you actually need. Do not sum every maximum. Audit bands regenerate from the directory; the other rows are dated planning inputs on the cost sources page. The cost calculator models a specific scope. It does not turn optional rows into required spend.

How much does a SOC 2 Type 2 cost?

Specialist Type 2 estimates are $15,500 to $50,000, full-service CPA firms $30,000 to $80,000, and Big Four firms $65,000 to $200,000. Type 2 usually costs more than Type 1 in a like-for-like proposal because it tests operating effectiveness over an agreed period. Specialist Type 1 currently runs $10,000 to $35,000; Big Four Type 1 runs $40,000 to $145,000.

The Type 2 cost guide covers the observation period, next-year renewal, and what the fee excludes.

How do you compare SOC 2 quotes on the same scope?

Give every CPA firm the same five inputs, then compare written inclusions and change triggers. Without a normalized brief, a lower quote may simply exclude work another firm included.

  1. Report: Type 1 at a specified date or Type 2 over exact proposed dates.
  2. Criteria: Security plus only the additional Trust Services Criteria the buyer requires.
  3. System boundary: products, cloud accounts, locations, people, and subservice organizations in scope.
  4. Readiness: current controls, known gaps, evidence systems, and whether readiness or re-testing is included.
  5. Calendar: desired kickoff, evidence period, fieldwork, draft, and final-report date.

Can a small startup get a SOC 2 audit for $7,000–$10,000?

$7,000 to $10,000 is a reasonable budget-shopping scenario for a Type 2 audit when you have 1–10 people, one simple SaaS system, Security-only scope, and controls ready for testing. You are comparing lower-cost specialists and do not need a particular large-firm name on the report.

The starting range comes from our Zero Day CPA pricing estimate, checked against anonymized quote patterns. It is a planning estimate. Some small-scope offers cost less; extra systems, criteria, or a required auditor brand can cost more. The calculator methodology explains this reference and the adjustments.

Ask for the audit fee, Type 2 observation dates, and exclusions in writing. A short first report may not meet a customer's requirement for a longer period. The Type 2 cost guide covers that choice and the next audit; the startup budget guide covers the wider first-year plan.

One brief. 3–10 quotes.

We match firms to your scope and bring their ballpark quotes back. Free and anonymized.

What do third-party sources say SOC 2 audits cost?

Third-party price points reviewed in June 2026 corroborate the organization-group ranges above: first-person buyer reports from public forums, and figures audit firms publish about their own market. Duplicate, ambiguous, and low-credibility sources were rejected. See our monthly-refreshed cost statistics for how these figures move each month.

FigureCoversSource
$20,000 Total / type not stated First-person figure in an r/msp thread, Nov 2024
$12,000 Total / type not stated First-person figure in an r/SaaS thread, Jan 2024
$15,000 Type 2 audit First-person figure in an r/msp thread, Dec 2025
$5,500 Type 1 audit First-person figure in an r/soc2 thread, Mar 2025
$10,000 Readiness phase First-person figure in an r/cybersecurity thread, Nov 2023
$13,500 Readiness phase The Pun Group (CPA firm in our directory), readiness guide, Nov 2025
$27,500 Total / type not stated The Pun Group (CPA firm in our directory), cost guide, Dec 2025
$85,000 Total / type not stated A-LIGN SOC 2 guide, Mar 2026 — an "up to" upper bound, not a typical fee
$50,000 Type 2 audit FRSecure SOC 2 Type 2 overview (undated)

Compliance-automation platforms publish estimates too. Across the Drata, Sprinto, Secureframe, and Vanta guides, audit figures run $7,500 to $45,000. Those are marketing estimates, not recorded prices, so they are not in the table above. Every reviewed record, including the platform figures, is listed with method and retrieval date on the sources page. They are not inputs to the firm-type bands. A platform guide has a reason to keep the audit line small next to its own subscription fee.

Selection method

How to control SOC 2 audit cost

Lock these three decisions before you send an RFP so the quotes describe the same job.

01Lock the Trust Services Criteria first

A Security-only scope is usually narrower than one with additional criteria. Add Availability, Confidentiality, Processing Integrity, or Privacy when the report's intended users need them, and have each firm price the same selection.

02Match organization group to the buyer requirement

Our data shows large price differences by organization group. Ask whether a named customer, regulator, lender, or board actually requires a particular firm before paying for brand and scale you do not need.

03Make inclusions and change triggers explicit

Have every firm state whether readiness, system-description support, extra samples, re-testing, travel, add-on criteria, report revisions, and scope changes are included. A low fee with open-ended exclusions is not the low-cost quote.

FAQ

SOC 2 audit cost: common questions

Questions to settle before you issue an RFP.

How much does a SOC 2 audit cost?

Specialist Type 2 audit fees currently run $15,500 to $50,000 in our directory; Type 1 runs $10,000 to $35,000. Full-service CPA firms estimate $30,000 to $80,000 for Type 2, and Big Four firms $65,000 to $200,000. SOC 2 is an attestation: there is no extra certificate fee. A 1–10 person SaaS team with a simple system and controls ready can shop lower-cost specialists on a $7,000 to $10,000 Type 2 budget. All figures are USD.

Are SOC 2 audits required?

No law generally requires every company to obtain a SOC 2 report. The requirement usually comes from a customer, contract, or procurement process. If nobody has asked, compare the specialist and Big Four bands above with the revenue or risk the report would address before you commit budget.

What factors affect SOC 2 audit pricing?

Organization group explains a large share of the price spread in our directory, but two proposals are comparable only when the scope and team are comparable. Other drivers include the report type and period, Trust Services Criteria, system complexity, entities and locations, readiness, sampling effort, remediation, and the written change-order rules.

How long does a SOC 2 audit take?

A SOC 2 audit usually takes about 2–3 months once scope, controls, and evidence are ready. End-to-end, plan about 3–6 months for Type 1 and 6–12 months or more for a first Type 2. Type 2 takes longer because it covers control operation over an agreed period, commonly 3, 6, or 12 months.

How much does the annual SOC 2 renewal cost?

There is no reliable universal renewal percentage. A repeat engagement may cost less when the scope, systems, controls, and audit firm stay the same. Changes can erase that. Ask each firm to price the first report and the likely next-year Type 2 against the same assumptions.

Can we do a SOC 2 audit ourselves?

You can prepare the controls, policies, system description, and evidence internally. You cannot issue the attestation yourself: an independent licensed CPA firm must perform the examination and sign the SOC 2 report.

How long is an auditor's SOC 2 quote valid?

Use the expiration date written in the proposal; there is no universal validity period. Treat the quote as subject to re-scoping if the report type, Trust Services Criteria, system boundary, headcount, locations, or target period changes before the engagement starts.

Is penetration testing included in SOC 2 audit cost?

Usually not. Our current add-on range is $8,000 to $30,000, but a proposal may bundle or exclude the work. Confirm the test type, application and network scope, retest policy, deliverables, and testing provider as separate line items before comparing totals.

How much does a SOC 2 audit cost for a startup?

Our lean-startup scenario uses $7,000 to $10,000 for Type 2 or $5,000 to $7,000 for Type 1: 1–10 people, a simple SaaS system, Security only, and controls ready for testing. The lower-cost specialist budget is checked against anonymized quote patterns. It is a planning estimate, not a confirmed offer. Agree the Type 2 observation period in writing.

Is a SOC 2 Type 1 cheaper than Type 2?

In a like-for-like proposal, Type 2 usually costs more because it adds operating-effectiveness testing. The bands overlap: organization group, scope, systems, and readiness can dominate. Specialist Type 1 currently runs $10,000 to $35,000 and specialist Type 2 $15,500 to $50,000.

How much does a SOC 2 Type 2 cost?

Specialist Type 2 estimates are $15,500 to $50,000, full-service CPA firms $30,000 to $80,000, and Big Four firms $65,000 to $200,000. For a small, prepared SaaS team shopping among lower-cost specialists, $7,000 to $10,000 is a starting budget. They cover different scopes and are not minimum fees. The observation period and written inclusions matter when comparing proposals.

How much does a SOC 2 Type 1 certification cost?

Buyers searching that phrase usually mean the Type 1 audit fee. Specialist Type 1 estimates are $10,000 to $35,000; Big Four Type 1 estimates are $40,000 to $145,000. Type 1 tests control design at a specified date. There is no extra Type 1 certificate fee.

What's the cheapest legitimate SOC 2 audit?

There is no reliable market-wide minimum. Small-scope offers can cost less than our planning scenarios, sometimes with a required platform or a short Type 2 observation period. Check the signing CPA firm, peer-review record, report period, inclusions, and independence. Confirm that your customer will accept the proposed report before buying.

Does SOC 2 cost include the readiness assessment?

Not automatically. Readiness is a distinct phase and may be a separate contract, a line item, or a bundled service. Ask who performs it, what the deliverable is, whether the provider preserves independence, and whether remediation or re-testing is included.

How much does SOC 2 certification cost?

SOC 2 is an attestation. There is no extra certificate fee. Buyers using that phrase usually mean the CPA examination: specialist Type 1 estimates are $10,000 to $35,000 and specialist Type 2 estimates are $15,500 to $50,000, before readiness, software, testing, remediation, and internal labor.

Does a SOC 2 audit cost more in Australia or the UK?

There is no reliable universal country premium. Quotes depend on firm, scope, systems, locations, currency, taxes, team model, and the professional requirements that apply to the engagement. Compare the converted total and inclusions rather than applying a fixed percentage to a US estimate. For Australian issuer comparison and typical AUD bands, use the Australian SOC 2 auditors directory. Figures on this page are USD-normalised.
One call, not five

Get quotes on a fixed scope

Tell us your audit type, criteria, system count, and target date. We send the same scope to matching firms so the quotes describe the same job.

58-second form · Anonymous until you pick.