19 platforms · Last updated
PCI DSS compliance software, and who can actually assess you
PCI DSS compliance software helps organize controls and evidence for your payment environment. Compare that support separately from assessment services: a framework claim does not establish QSA status or your validation route. The table shows recorded software and assessor evidence, with unknowns preserved. Confirm current assessor status and required validation before contracting.
This comparison covers core SOC 2 platforms with a documented PCI DSS claim; trust-center and questionnaire-only products are outside its scope.
Which of these can actually assess you, and which just prepare you
Compare software support and assessment services as separate purchases. The dated assessor checks below are not a current confirmation for every row; verify the contracting legal entity in the PCI SSC directory. This table covers compliance-management platforms, not the Council’s separate list of validated payment software.
Featured firms pay to appear first. Every firm here cleared our fit bar first; payment cannot add a firm or change its facts. Use the sort controls to reorder.
| On the PCI SSC assessor list | Depth of PCI support | Helps with the SAQ | You still need a QSA | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Comp AI Sponsored | No | Vendor-claimed | Not stated | Yes |
| Thoropass | Yes, as Thoropass, Inc. | Native control set | Not stated | No, it is the assessor |
| Hyperproof | Not established in this review | Vendor-claimed PCI DSS 4.0.1 template and control crosswalking | Not established | Confirm assessment route separately |
| Vanta | No | Native control set | Yes | Yes |
| Drata | No | Native control set | Yes | Yes |
| Secureframe | No | Native control set | Yes, names SAQ types | Yes |
| Scrut Automation | No | Native, mapped to v4.0 clauses | Yes | Yes |
| Carbide | No | Native control set | Not stated | Yes |
| Sprinto | No | Mapped from other frameworks | Not stated | Yes, and it says so |
| Scytale | No | Mapped from other frameworks | Not stated | Yes |
| Strike Graph | No | Mapped, SAQ-oriented | Yes | Yes |
| Oneleet | No | Mapped from other frameworks | Not stated | Yes |
| TrustCloud | No | Mapped via a common control framework | Yes | Yes |
| Anecdotes | No | Vendor-claimed | Not stated | Yes |
| Apptega | No | Vendor-claimed | Not stated | Yes |
| ComplyJet | No | Vendor-claimed | Not stated | Yes |
| Trustero | No | Vendor-claimed | Not stated | Yes |
| Delve | No | Vendor-claimed, thin | Not stated | Yes |
| Zania | No public QSA listing found | Mapped across frameworks; PCI depth not independently established | Not stated | Yes |
QSA status comes from the PCI SSC directory. Software support and SAQ help are separate from who can assess you. Verify the contracting legal entity before you buy.
What SOC 2 evidence actually carries over to PCI DSS
Both frameworks expect the same underlying security practices, so work you have already done is not wasted. Restricted system and physical access, user access reviews, encryption in transit and at rest, endpoint and server hardening, secure development and change management, logging and monitoring, and written information security policies all inform both programs.
What does not carry over is scope, and scope is where second-framework projects actually go wrong. PCI DSS is bounded to the cardholder data environment; SOC 2 covers whatever system you defined. A PCI-scoped vulnerability scan does not satisfy SOC 2, and a SOC 2 access review does not automatically cover the CDE. PCI DSS also demands artifacts SOC 2 has no equivalent for: the SAQ or Report on Compliance, the Attestation of Compliance, and quarterly external scans by an Approved Scanning Vendor.
You will see a "60 percent overlap" figure quoted in this category. We are not repeating it as fact. It traces back to a compliance vendor's own blog, not to the PCI Security Standards Council or any audit-standards body, and we found no independent source that quantifies the overlap at all. The overlap is real and substantial. The number is marketing.
Do you need a QSA, or can you self-assess
Most companies buying compliance software can self-assess. The Self-Assessment Questionnaire is available to merchants below Level 1, which is roughly anything under six million card transactions a year, and to service providers under 300,000 transactions a year. Above those lines you are generally into a Report on Compliance signed by a Qualified Security Assessor.
One thing worth knowing before a vendor tells you otherwise: the PCI Security Standards Council writes the standard and publishes the SAQ instruments, but it does not set your validation level. That is determined by the individual card brands, and only your acquiring bank can assign it. So the honest answer to "which SAQ am I" is that your acquirer decides, and any platform promising certainty before you have asked them is overselling.
Both paths still require quarterly external vulnerability scans by an Approved Scanning Vendor for in-scope internet-facing systems, and both end in an Attestation of Compliance. Software does not remove either.
What PCI DSS costs on top of the platform fee
Platform pricing and assessment pricing are separate budgets, and the second is usually the larger one. The Council publishes no fee schedule for what a QSA charges a client. The only figure it does publish is what assessor firms pay the Council to stay qualified, around $20,000 a year regionally or $40,000 for global coverage, which is a cost to the assessor and not to you.
Client-facing fees are set by the private market and the reported bands are wide. Self-assessment support runs from almost nothing to a few thousand dollars depending on SAQ type and whether a consultant helps. A mid-market QSA engagement is commonly reported in the tens of thousands. A full QSA-led Report on Compliance for a complex cloud environment is reported from around $30,000 into six figures. Treat all of those as secondary-source ranges rather than quotes, because that is what they are.
The practical consequence for platform selection: if you are heading for a ROC, the bundled-assessor option removes a procurement cycle and a second vendor relationship. If you are self-assessing, it buys you nothing and you should pick on evidence automation instead.
What it means when the same vendor sells the software and the assessment
One vendor selling you both the compliance software and the assessment removes a procurement cycle and a handoff, which is worth real money when you are running two frameworks with a small team. It is also a structure worth understanding before you sign, the same way you would with any bundled provider.
The safeguards here are external, not self-declared. Qualified Security Assessor companies are qualified and re-listed by the PCI Security Standards Council itself, and the list is public, so you can check current status before you engage anyone. Thoropass runs its attestation work through Laika Compliance, LLC, a legally separate CPA entity, which passed its most recent AICPA peer review with a rating of pass, accepted 12 December 2025. We read that from the AICPA public file rather than from a vendor page.
The trade that is actually worth weighing is portability, not assessment quality. A bundled engagement is harder to take to a different assessor next year without exporting and re-mapping. Thoropass also sells the other way round: it states its audit platform works with any GRC platform and systems of record, so you can keep the compliance software you already run and engage it purely as the assessor. Price both paths rather than assuming the bundle is the only shape on offer.
We list independent assessors separately from software so the two decisions stay separable, and we are not an assessor ourselves.
Frequently asked.
Can I do PCI compliance myself?
If you are a merchant below Level 1 or a service provider under 300,000 transactions a year, you can generally complete a Self-Assessment Questionnaire yourself. Your acquiring bank assigns the validation level, not the PCI Council and not your software vendor, so confirm with them before you plan around it. You will still need quarterly external scans from an Approved Scanning Vendor.
Can I be PCI compliant for free?
The SAQ itself costs nothing to download and complete, so a small merchant with a simple environment can validate at close to zero direct cost. What is not free is the quarterly Approved Scanning Vendor scan, and neither is the engineering work behind the controls. Compliance software reduces the effort, not the requirements.
Which compliance platforms are a PCI QSA?
The table records Thoropass, Inc. as listed in the PCI SSC assessor database in the July 24, 2026 review. That is dated evidence, not a current or exhaustive assurance about every provider or affiliate. Check the proposed assessor’s legal name and current listing before signing; software support alone does not establish QSA status.
Will my SOC 2 evidence count toward PCI DSS?
Some of it, and less than vendors imply. Access control, encryption, hardening, change management, logging, and policies inform both. The scopes differ, though: PCI DSS is bounded to the cardholder data environment while SOC 2 covers your defined system, so neither set of evidence automatically satisfies the other. Plan for real additional work rather than a rebadge.
What is PCI DSS in software terms?
It is a prescriptive standard: more than 300 sub-requirements across 12 requirements, scoped to wherever card data is stored, processed, or transmitted. That prescriptiveness is why platform support varies so much. A platform with a native PCI control set tests against the numbered requirements; one that maps PCI off its SOC 2 controls gives you a crosswalk and leaves the gaps to you.