Best standalone fit
Thoropass
Choose it when the software, expert guidance, and CPA examination should share one connected workflow.
24 platforms · Last updated
Thoropass is the best standalone SOC 2 platform in our reviewed set for buyers who want the software and CPA audit in one connected workflow. Thoropass, Inc. provides the software; affiliated CPA firm Thoropass Assurance performs the examination and issues the report. The software and audit are priced separately. A-LIGN includes A-SCEND with its audit engagements but does not sell it as standalone GRC software.
This comparison covers core SOC 2 platforms where the auditor works inside the product. Only Thoropass connects that workspace to an affiliated CPA firm.
Thoropass is the only standalone platform in this reviewed set that connects its software to an affiliated CPA firm that can issue the report. The table shows why an auditor workspace at another platform is useful but not the same purchase.
| Who issues the report | How the auditor gets access | Can you take the evidence to another auditor | What you are locked into | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thoropass | Our pick: Thoropass Assurance, an affiliated CPA entity | Thoropass Assurance works in the same workspace | Not publicly documented | Bundled: one workflow with separately priced platform and audit dimensions. Audit-first: keep your own platform |
| Vanta | No, chosen from Vanta’s in-app marketplace | Scoped read-only access, in-dashboard | Yes, invite a new firm in | Two contracts, billed separately |
| Drata | No, via Drata’s Audit Alliance directory | Dedicated audit portal with a full change log | Yes, invite a new firm in | Two contracts, billed separately |
| Secureframe | No, via Secureframe’s Audit Partner program | In-platform audit module | Yes, not bundled | Two contracts, billed separately |
| ServiceNow Integrated Risk Management | No, your independently engaged licensed CPA firm | Audit Workspace manages engagements, tests, tasks, and evidence requests; current public documentation does not establish a purpose-built external CPA portal | Evidence export and outside-auditor portability are not publicly established | Two contracts plus the buyer’s implementation and module configuration |
| Sprinto | No, Sprinto’s network, or your own firm on Growth | Dedicated dashboard, or bring your own on Growth | Yes, explicit on the Growth tier | Two contracts, billed separately |
| Scytale | No, an external CPA firm | Built-in audit tracker; expert support depends on package | Yes, not bundled | Two contracts; consulting scope depends on the selected package |
| Scrut Automation | No, an independent licensed auditor | Audit Center, a scoped invited view | Yes, freely or from its partner directory | Two contracts, billed separately |
| Screenata | No — you pick an independent CPA; Screenata says it takes no referral fees | Pricing page lists an auditor portal; we have not used it | Yes — bring your own auditor is the stated model | Two contracts, billed separately |
| Strike Graph | No, any auditor you already use, or one from its network | States compatibility with any independent auditor | Yes, explicitly stated | Two contracts; network audit fees reported at $4K to $8K a year |
| TrustCloud | No, your own independent auditor | AuditLens, a scoped read-only view | Yes, per its own directory record | Two contracts, billed separately |
| Oneleet | No, from Oneleet’s vetted auditor network | Not stated beyond the network handoff | Not established | Two contracts; an in-house penetration test is the one edge here |
| Hyperproof | No, your own licensed CPA firm | Evidence-request and audit-management workspace | Not established | Two contracts, billed separately |
| Iru | No, your independently engaged licensed CPA firm | Read-only Compliance Auditor roles for framework readiness, control actions, artifacts, policies, and history | Yes, export and invite a new firm; confirm the offboarding package | Two contracts, billed separately |
| Optro | No, your independently engaged licensed CPA firm | External Audit Projects provides separate auditor workspaces with restricted customer-data access; the reviewed material does not establish a CPA audit issuer | Not established beyond the separate-project model | Two contracts plus enterprise implementation and module configuration |
| Onspring | No, your independently engaged CPA firm | Portal and External Audit Portal support tailored external-partner access, audit management, and evidence gathering | Not established | Two contracts plus configurable implementation; Trustero is an integration, not the CPA issuer |
| OneTrust Certification Automation | No, your own licensed CPA firm | Auditor-collaboration workspace | Not established | Two contracts, billed separately |
| Anecdotes | No, an external CPA or advisory firm | Interactive audit workspace for named partner firms | Not established | Two contracts, billed separately |
| Apptega | No, engaged independently or arranged by an MSSP | Not stated beyond in-house or partner-led prep | Not established | Two contracts, or one via an MSSP reseller |
| Carbide | No, an independent audit partner | Connects you to a partner once you are audit-ready | Not established | Two contracts, billed separately |
| Comp AI | No, an independent accredited auditor | Built-in auditor role, evidence export and findings workflow; exact workspace scope not independently tested | Yes, Comp AI says buyers may use any accredited auditor | Separate CPA issuer; confirm the audit firm and fee in the Order Form |
| ComplyJet | No, one of a 40-plus firm network | Hands off to a network firm | Not established beyond its own network | Two contracts; audit fee reported at $3K to $12K a year |
| Delve | No, an independent auditor of your choosing | Not stated beyond independent review | Yes, per Delve’s own statement | Confirm in the Order: public pages describe both bundled and separate audit-cost models |
| Trustero | No, an independently engaged licensed CPA firm | An auditor persona and dashboard | Not established | Two contracts, billed separately |
Auditor-workspace facts come from our directory and public vendor pages. Thoropass Assurance peer-review status was checked in December 2025. Confirm portability and pricing in your contract. Sources and review method.
Thoropass is the clearest standalone choice when you want the software and audit in one workflow. A-LIGN supplies A-SCEND only with an A-LIGN audit. The remaining platforms prepare and share evidence with a CPA firm you engage separately.
Best standalone fit
Choose it when the software, expert guidance, and CPA examination should share one connected workflow.
Audit engagement first
Choose A-LIGN as the auditor and receive A-SCEND with the engagement; it is not a standalone GRC subscription.
Independent CPA choice
Choose Vanta, Drata, or another platform when selecting or rotating the CPA firm independently matters more than removing the handoff.
Keep your current GRC
Thoropass says its audit workflow can accept exports from another GRC platform. Confirm the evidence and commercial terms for your environment.
Thoropass is our pick because its software, hands-on guidance, evidence requests, and CPA examination share one workflow. In our conversations with first-time buyers, avoiding a separate handoff between the software vendor and audit firm is a recurring priority.
Thoropass, Inc. supplies the technology and professional-services layer. Affiliated licensed CPA firm Laika Compliance, LLC dba Thoropass Assurance performs the examination and issues the report. Its most recent AICPA public-file peer review carries a Pass accepted in December 2025.
The limitation is choice. Buyers whose policy requires no common ownership between the software company and audit firm, or who want to rotate the CPA while keeping the same workspace, should prefer a buyer-owned GRC platform with a separately selected auditor. Thoropass also offers the opposite path: keep another GRC system and use Thoropass Assurance for the audit.
Thoropass is the standalone software-and-audit option to shortlist. A-LIGN’s A-SCEND is the second connected model to examine, but it starts with choosing A-LIGN as the auditor: A-LIGN includes the workspace with applicable engagements and does not sell it as a standalone platform fee.
The portability question is open on the bundled path. Thoropass does not publicly document whether another CPA can work in its workspace. A-LIGN does not sell A-SCEND separately. Ask for export, retention, outside-auditor access, and transition terms in writing before treating either model as interchangeable with a buyer-owned GRC platform.
The bundle is also not the only way to buy it, which is the part most comparisons in this category miss. Thoropass states that its audit platform works with any GRC platform and system of record, and that Smart Sort AI, a feature it announced in January 2026, turns an export from any GRC tool into audit-ready evidence with no integration to build. In that shape you keep Vanta, Drata, ServiceNow or whatever you already run, and Thoropass Assurance is simply the CPA firm that issues your report. That is the vendor’s own claim and we have not run an engagement through it, but it changes the shape of the decision: bundled software plus audit is one option Thoropass sells, not the only one.
A-LIGN’s model starts with the audit engagement. A-SCEND is the workspace A-LIGN provides with it, rather than a platform you can buy alone. Confirm post-engagement access, evidence export, and any transition terms before choosing it for a program that may later change auditors.
Vanta, Drata, Secureframe, Sprinto and Scytale all put real distance between themselves and a bare automation tool, and none of them issues the report. Vanta’s in-app auditor marketplace is the closest thing to bundled without actually being bundled. You browse vetted CPA firms inside the platform, select one, and share evidence without leaving the dashboard, and the auditor gets scoped read-only access rather than a folder of exported files. Vanta also carries the largest install base in this set, which means an auditor you pick has probably used it before. What is missing from end-to-end is that you still negotiate and pay the audit firm separately, on a second contract.
Drata spins up a dedicated audit workspace for the CPA firm you choose, with mapped evidence, control status and a full change log, on top of a large native integration catalogue and genuine cross-framework evidence reuse. Its readiness score and gap tracker are a useful weekly read, particularly for a team running SOC 2 alongside ISO 27001 or HIPAA. Secureframe takes a different route and assigns a named compliance expert, often a former auditor, who handles control interpretation, evidence-gap triage and auditor prep. That is closer to a human layer than pure automation, though the attestation still comes from an outside firm engaged through its Audit Partner program.
Sprinto and Scytale sit at opposite ends of how much human help can be bundled in. Sprinto is prescriptive and largely unstaffed: it scans your stack on day one, outputs a prioritised task list, and guides you to audit-readiness in 60 to 90 days, with entity-level monitoring that names the specific gap rather than a generic category. Scytale sells Build Starter as a platform package and includes dedicated consultants or GRC teams in separate packages. It also carries the strongest EMEA presence in this set. Despite the name of that tracker, the attestation on a Scytale engagement comes from a partner CPA firm, not from Scytale itself.
Not necessarily. AWS Marketplace lists Thoropass starting dimensions of $8,700 a year for the platform and $5,800 a year for the SOC 2 audit, or about $14,500 combined at the published floor. They bill independently, and a real quote changes with company size, systems, audit type, criteria, and review period. Treat those figures as starting points, not a typical total.
Bundling can reduce handoffs, but it can also reduce portability. Compare the total scope and contract boundary, not a headline “all-in-one” claim. For teams pursuing multiple frameworks, confirm whether the shared evidence work and the assurance scope are actually included rather than assumed.
AICPA independence requirements and applicable state rules govern the engagement. A separate-entity structure and a peer-review result do not, by themselves, answer a buyer’s policy question or determine independence for a specific engagement.
Thoropass’s reviewed public-file record reports a Pass for Laika Compliance LLC, accepted in December 2025. A-LIGN’s product model is vendor-stated. Ask the proposed CPA firm to explain its independence safeguards, then check your customers’ or audit committee’s own policy before signing.
Choose separate contracts when you need the freedom to select or rotate the CPA firm independently of the software, or when your policy requires a particular ownership or independence model. The critical facts are export rights, record retention, outside-auditor access, renewal terms, and how the audit fee is separated from the software fee.
Choose a combined model only after a proof session and a proposal that states those terms. The attraction is fewer handoffs, not a universally lower price or a guaranteed faster audit.
None of which settles the auditor question, only the provider-model question. Every constraint in this section is an argument against consolidating software and audit, not an argument against the firms that sell both: with Thoropass you can take the audit and leave the platform, and A-LIGN audits plenty of companies running Vanta or Drata. If the appeal is a CPA firm that has automated its own side of the work, you can have that without consolidating your stack.
No. Vanta collects evidence, runs continuous monitoring and hosts an in-app auditor marketplace where you choose a licensed CPA firm. That firm reviews the evidence inside Vanta and issues the report on its own. The Vanta subscription and the audit fee are separate line items. This is the most common confusion in the category, because Vanta’s marketing covers so much of the compliance lifecycle that buyers assume the audit ships with it.
Not automatically. AWS Marketplace lists Thoropass starting dimensions of $8,700 a year for the platform and $5,800 a year for the SOC 2 audit, but they bill independently and real quotes vary with scope. Compare the combined proposal with separate software and CPA proposals, then ask for implementation, additional-framework, renewal, export, and retention terms separately.
Often, but the specific export, retention, and outside-auditor terms matter. A buyer-owned GRC platform normally keeps the evidence workspace while a new CPA is invited. Thoropass says it can audit companies that keep another GRC tool; its bundled-workspace portability is not publicly established. A-LIGN does not sell A-SCEND as a standalone subscription.
Independence depends on the engagement, applicable rules, and your own buyer policy. A separate-entity structure and peer-review result do not settle that question alone. Thoropass’s reviewed public-file record shows a Pass for Laika Compliance LLC, accepted in December 2025; ask the proposed CPA firm to explain its safeguards for your engagement.
There is no direct one. SOC 2 is a US attestation standard, and European buyers typically pursue ISO 27001 certification instead, issued by accredited certification bodies rather than CPA firms. A handful of platforms in this set, including Thoropass, Scytale and Drata, run SOC 2 and ISO 27001 from one shared evidence base, which is the closest a company needing both frameworks gets to a genuinely single-vendor process.
Compare two written proposals at the same scope. Ask whether you need independent CPA choice, what your customers require for independence, whether the audit workspace is portable, and what remains after the engagement. A combined model should make those answers clearer, not hide them inside one price.